BONE Structure® is the Best Integrator
To Build Net Zero Energy Homes


BONE Structure Homes can reduce heating and cooling loads by up to 90% when compared to a traditional house. In addition, the BONE Structure integrated approach to design will ensure a seamless integration with your chosen energy systems.

What is a Net Zero Energy Home?


A Net Zero Energy (NZE), as defined by the California Energy Commission, is a building for which the amount of energy provided by on-site renewable energy sources is equal to the amount of energy used by the building, over the course of one year.

Counting Down to Net Zero


The California Energy Commission has a stated goal of requiring all residential buildings to be Net Zero Energy by 2020 and all commercial buildings by 2030. Similar targets are in place for the province of Ontario, Canada and the city of Vancouver, B.C., requiring all new residential buildings to be Net Zero Energy by 2030.

California, USA

motionmailapp.com

Ontario & Vancouver, CANADA

motionmailapp.com

How to Achieve Net Zero Efficiency


A Net Zero Energy (NZE) building needs to achieve a balance between the on-site production of energy and the energy it consumes over the course of one year. A more efficient home will require less energy to be produced, while a home with high energy requirements will need a larger production capacity.

A Net Zero Energy building is not necessarily an off-the-grid home. In order to respond to peak demands and periods of lower energy production (such as reduced sunlight in winter, for solar), a NZE building may purchase energy from, and sell back to the grid as required.

  • STEP 1: Increase Energy Efficiency

    • Efficient building construction
    • Efficient systems and appliances
    • Operations and maintenance
    • Change in personal behaviour
  • STEP 2: Energy Production

    • Address remaining needs with on-site renewable energy generation, such as wind, solar or hydro.
      Source

Easily Reach Net Zero Energy Efficiency
With BONE Structure


By significantly reducing the energy requirements of a home, the BONE Structure construction system allows you to reach Net Zero Energy Efficiency with ease.

Extreme insulation for high performance buildings

Insulation

BONE Structure’s wall insulation is at least R28.5, while roof insulation is R53 or higher.

Airtightness

BONE Structure homes have typically shown airtightness levels below 1.0 ACH50 when tested.

Precise Fit for Doors, Windows and Accessories

Energy Efficient Design

Custom design optimises for location, climate and client’s lifestyle.

Project 15-580

The Best Integrator

From solar roofs to HVAC, BONE Structure easily integrates all systems.

Comparing Energy Needs


  • Insulation to code

    1. Traditional homes are often only insulated to code, which can vary depending on location from R13 to R25 for the walls and R30 to R49 for the roofs. These values are the updated standards for new construction, and were significantly lower only 5 to 10 yeas ago.

  • Low airtightness

    2. Typical airtightness requirements for new construction have been updated in recent years to 6 ACH50 (air exchanges per hour) for warm climates and 3 ACH50 for cold climates. Certain locations are also now requiring air exchange units, but this is not yet a standard.

  • Increased Thermal Bridging

    3. Depending on the type of construction, up to 25% of a traditional framed wall is wood studs as opposed to insulation. Without additional exterior insulation, this may cause significant thermal bridging.

  • Lack of energy-conscious design

    4. While possible, many traditional homes are built without optimizing for location, glare and sunlight throughout the seasons. Both heating and cooling loads must be taken into account when designing for Net Zero Efficiency.

  • High Energy Needs

    5. While a home with high energy needs can still achieve Net Zero Efficiency, it will require significantly more energy to be produced on-site. The available roof space or optimal sunlight placement for solar panels can become a limiting factor, requiring a more complex production system.

  • Highly Insulated Shell

    1. A well insulated thermal envelope reduces energy loads, providing energy efficiency and comfort. BONE Structure’s insulation values of R28.5 or higher for walls and R53 or higher for roofs are well above code and have been tested in controlled environments.

  • Highly Airtight

    2. Airtightness is an often overlooked aspect of home insulation. BONE Structure homes have consistently scored below 0.8 ACH50 (air exchanges per hour) when tested, which is very close to the PassivHaus requirement of 0.6 ACH50.

  • Minimal Thermal Bridging

    3. The BONE Structure construction system has been designed to reduce thermal bridging to a minimum. For a 150 sq. ft. wall, a total of only 1.5 to 3 in2 actually connects to the outside.

  • Integrated Design

    4. BONE Structure’s design team considers each home’s unique location and climate conditions when deciding its shape, orientation, and window placement, creating a space that is both energy-efficient and pleasing to live in.

  • Ultra Low Energy Needs

    5. With energy loads significantly reduced, achieving Net Zero Efficiency will now require a smaller energy production system: fewer solar panels, turbines or battery storage. You can therefore maximize your access to sunlight on smaller or shaded lots.

High-Performance Integrated Design


BONE Structure High Performance Design Brochure

By considering each home’s unique climate and site conditions, BONE Structure’s design team can make informed decisions about a home’s shape, orientation, and window placement, creating a space that is both energy-efficient and pleasing to live in by maximizing thermal and visual comfort.

BONE Structure’s high-performance design services prioritize comfort and energy efficiency throughout the entire design phase of a home, drastically increasing efficiency in the design workflow. Learn how this process improves the design of your home by downloading the High-Performance Integrated Design brochure.

BONE Structure Net Zero Homes


15-580 Featured

Professor Mark Z. Jacobson’s home in Stanford, Palo Alto

Project 15-621

Project 15-621 in Vancouver, British-Columbia

BONE Structure Project 16-720

Under Construction: Off-the-grid home in Ontario

Green Building F.A.Q.


Did you know?

  • Standard BONE Structure airtightness values typically test below 1.0 ACH50, nearing the PassivHaus standard of 0.6 ACH50.
  • The BONE Structure construction system relies on composite materials to eliminate thermal bridging throughout the building.

Read more about these details and find much more information on building green in the BONE Structure Green Building FAQ.

BONE Structure® est le meilleur intégrateur
pour construire des maisons à efficacité énergétique Nette Zéro


Les maisons BONE Structure peuvent réduire les coûts de chauffage et de climatisation jusqu’à 90% lorsqu’on les compare à une maison traditionnelle. De plus, l’approche de design intégré BONE Structure assure une intégration homogène de vos systèmes mécaniques choisis.

Qu’est-ce qu’une maison
à consommation énergétique Nette Zéro?


Une maison à consommation énergétique Nette Zéro, tel que défini par la Commission de l’Énergie de la Californie, est un bâtiment pour lequel la quantité d’énergie produite sur place par des sources d’énergie renouvelables est égale à la quantité d’énergie utilisée par le bâtiment, en moyenne durant le cours d’un an.

Compte à rebours avant l’ère Nette Zéro


La Commission de l’Énergie de la Californie exige que tous les nouveaux bâtiments résidentiels détiennent une efficacité énergétique Nette Zéro d’ici 2020, et tous les bâtiments commerciaux d’ici 2030. Des objectifs similaires ont été fixés par la province de l’Ontario, au Canada ainsi que par la ville de Vancouver, en Colombie-Britannique, qui demandent que tous les nouveaux bâtiments résidentiels aient une efficacité énergétique Nette Zéro d’ici 2030.

Californie, ÉTATS-UNIS

motionmailapp.com

Ontario & Vancouver, CANADA

motionmailapp.com

Comment atteindre une efficacité énergétique Nette Zéro?


Un bâtiment à efficacité énergétique Nette Zéro a besoin d’atteindre un équilibre entre l’énergie produite sur place et l’énergie qu’il consomme au cours d’une même année. Une maison plus efficace demandera moins d’énergie produite, tandis qu’une maison avec un haut besoin énergétique nécessitera une plus grande capacité de production.

Un bâtiment à efficacité énergétique Nette Zéro n’est pas nécessairement une maison débranchée du réseau. Pour réussir à répondre aux demandes de pointe et pour pallier les périodes de faible production énergétique (comme la réduction de lumière du soleil en hiver, pour les panneaux solaires), un bâtiment Nette Zéro peut acheter de l’énergie lorsque nécessaire mais peut aussi en revendre.

  • ÉTAPE 1: Améliorer l’efficacité énergétique

    • Construction efficace du bâtiment
    • Systèmes et appareils efficaces
    • Opérations et maintenance
    • Changement de notre propre comportement
  • ÉTAPE 2: Produire de l’énergie

    • Répondre aux besoins restants avec la production d’énergie renouvelable sur place, comme l’énergie éolienne, solaire ou hydraulique.
      Source

Atteindre facilement une efficacité énergétique
Nette Zéro avec BONE Structure


En réduisant les besoins énergétiques d’une maison au minimum, le système de construction BONE Structure vous permet d’atteindre facilement l’efficacité énergétique Nette Zéro.

Isolation extrême pour des bâtiments à haut rendement énergétique

Isolation

Le coefficient d’isolation des murs BONE Structure est d’au moins R28.5, tandis que celui du toit est de R53 ou plus.
 

Étanchéité à l’air

Les maisons BONE Structure obtiennent typiquement des niveaux d’étanchéité de l’air inférieurs à 1.0 ACH50 lors des tests.

Emboîtage parfait des portes, fenêtres et des accessoires

Dessinée efficacement

Une conception personnalisée optimise l’emplacement, le climat et le style de vie du client.

Projet 15-580

Le meilleur intégrateur

Des panneaux solaires au CVC, Bone Structure intègre facilement n’importe quel système.

Comparaison des besoins énergétiques


  • Isolation ne dépassant pas le code

    1. Les maisons traditionnelles sont souvent isolées en suivant le code, ce qui peut varier, dépendant de l’emplacement, de R13 à R25 pour les murs et de R30 à R29 pour les toits. Ces valeurs sont les standards mis à jour pour les nouvelles constructions. Ils étaient significativement plus petits il y 5 à 10 ans seulement.

  • Peu hermétique

    2. Les exigences typiques d’étanchéité à l’air pour les nouvelles constructions ont été mises à jour ces dernières années pour 6 ACH50 (échanges d’air par heure) pour les climats chaud et pour 3 ACH50 pour les climats plus froids. Certains emplacements exigent aussi des unités d’échange d’air, mais ce n’est pas encore un standard.

  • Ponts thermiques

    3. Dépendamment du type de construction, jusqu’à 25% d’un mur à ossature traditionnelle en bois est composé de montants en bois et non d’isolant. Sans isolation supplémentaire à l’extérieur, il peut y avoir des ponts thermiques significatifs.

  • Design non optimisé

    4. De nombreuses maisons traditionnelles sont construites sans tenir compte de l’emplacement, de l’éblouissement et de la lumière du soleil au fil des saisons. Les charges de chauffage et de refroidissement doivent être prises en compte lors d’une conception pour efficacité énergétique Nette Zéro.

  • Consommation énergétique élevée

    5. Une maison aux grands besoins énergétiques peut aussi atteindre l’efficacité Nette Zéro, mais elle demandera significativement plus de production d’énergie sur place. L’espace disponible sur le toit ou le positionnement idéal de l’ensoleillement pour les panneaux solaires peuvent devenir un facteur limitant, qui nécessitera un système de production plus complexe.

  • Isolation haute performance

    1. Une enveloppe thermique bien isolée réduit les charges d’énergie, tout en fournissant une efficacité énergétique et un grand confort. L’isolation BONE Structure équivaut à R28,5 ou plus pour les murs et à R53 et plus pour les toits. Ces données sont bien au-delà de celles demandées par le code.

  • Très hermétique

    2. L’étanchéité à l’air est un aspect souvent négligé de l’isolation d’une maison. Les maisons BONE Structure ont régulièrement obtenu des scores inférieurs à 0,8 ACH50 (échanges d’air par heure) lors des tests, ce qui est très proche de l’exigence de PassivHaus de 0,6 ACH50.
     

  • Aucun pont thermique

    3. Le système de construction BONE Structure a été conçu pour réduire les ponts thermiques au minimum. Pour un mur de 150 pi. ca., il y a seulement entre 1,5 et 3 po. ca. qui connecte avec l’extérieur.
     

  • Design optimisé

    4. L’équipe de design de BONE Structure considère l’emplacement unique et les conditions climatiques particulières de chaque maison pour décider de sa forme, de son orientation et de la disposition des fenêtres pour créer un espace qui est énergétiquement efficace mais surtout plaisant à vivre.

  • Très faible besoin énergétique

    5. Avec des charges d’énergie grandement réduites, atteindre l’efficacité Nette Zéro demandera maintenant de plus petits systèmes de production: moins de panneaux solaires, de turbines et de batteries d’emmagasinage. Vous pouvez donc maximiser votre accès à l’ensoleillement sur des terrains plus restreints et plus ombragés.

Des maisons Nette Zéro BONE Structure


Projet 15-580

La maison du Professeur Mark Z. Jacobson’s à Stanford, Palo Alto

Projet 15-621

Le projet 15-621 à Vancouver, Colombie-Britannique

Projet BONE Structure 16-720

En construction: Une maison hors réseau en Ontario